Return Book Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Second Installment!, September 24, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

After reading the first book, A New World: Chaos, I was left wondering what would happen after the main character rescued his girlfriend, a soldier in the Middle East. This book gave me the answers and more. I loved how the author developed the interpersonal relationships that he started in the first novel. I feel as though I am starting to really know the people and understand how they think. This series is different than other ZA books, in that the main character is a former AF pilot, and that he directly involves his pre-teen and teenage children in the operation and defense of their survival plan. Really cool zombies, w/ some new instincts and shortcomings. They are a rage-type zombie, so brace yourselves, Romero purists. Plenty of action balanced with real-life downtime in which the characters banter in a believable way. Not overloaded w/ technical military jargon. For the next book, I hope we get more development of the characters, especially the kids and other soldiers, and new twist on the survival plan after landing. I hope the author keeps the same format, with little glimpses into the mind and life of the night runners, plenty of scary tension, and bouncing back and forth between separate POV’s of the same chunk of time. Definitely well worth the money, but strongly suggest new readers go back and read the first installment before this one. Mr. O’Brien, I know you’re probably taking a break after writing this one, but I hope you get back to work soon on the next book!


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, November 9, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I purchased this book last week and read it in one day! It was well written, great plot, and awesome character development. I feel that the writer has a great knack
at this genre and look forward to reading more of his work. If you like zombies, you will like this!


5.0 out of 5 stars Another “edge of my seat” read. SUPERB, October 10, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I spent the last five hours reading “Return”. It was…awesome. “I am not worthy.” The “visuals” of Mr. O’Brien’s story are, to me, better than TV. Walker’s return to America is even more suspenseful, action packed, and exciting than his departure from the US in Book I. Jack Walker is a consummate hero, with an outstanding supporting cast of family and a growing band of stalwart comrades in arms. This is one of the best PA novels I have read to date. A few highlights:

DANGER, SOME SPOILERS:

* We are given a great deal of information about the “night runners” who threaten what’s left of humanity. They are NOT zombies, but a new kind of “un-human”.
* Jack’s son Robert becomes a highly proficient pilot himself. We are put in the cockpit with Jack’s family and are fascinated by the succinct, yet detailed instruction conveyed. Good stuff!
* Jack’s solo infiltration of, and subsequent escape from, the night runner infested CDC in Atlanta is worth the price of the book alone.
* Superior flight sequences; small unit tactics galore; POETIC descriptions at every turn; light and appropriate humor; serious but not excessive introspection and intense feelings. Damn, Mr. O’Brien is a natural story-teller. Give this author some serious respect.
Mr. O’Brien puts us in the action with first person narrative: We feel the dread of approaching night runners; our senses intensify; with the first brutal shots, time distortion sets in; the smells, sounds, vibrations, and quick, anxious glimpses which surround the soldiers are all described in awesome detail.

This is a series to savor. Mr. O’Brien, I bow in appreciation of your artistry. KEEP THEM COMING!

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, September 25, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

First off if you didn’t read the first book in this series I would recommend doing that first. A New World: Chaos
John O’brien is an excellent story teller. The story will keep you turning the pages. I especially enjoyed the humor he has put into his characters which makes them totally believable. Good character development, especially with the main character. I can’t wait for the 3rd book in this series to come out.


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Author Awesome Book, November 28, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

The books were truly awesome, I read about a book a day and these have been the best I have read in a long time.
I highly recommend you buy this book if you like survival books or the “I Am Legend” movie


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel, November 28, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

This is a great sequel to the first book and just as well written. Full bore action and characters that draw you in and get you involved in the story. Can’t wait for the next one.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great “zombie” book!, November 27, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

Definitely worth the money! I read both books over the long weekend and hated it to end. Unlike some authors this one keeps up with what he has written in the book and I can relax and enjoy. I have a pilot in my zombie plan but am thinking I need a air force or navy pilot in my plan. Thanks for the story!


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t put it down, November 23, 2011
By Mike
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I’ll start by saying it’s been many years since I’ve read for just enjoyment since everything I’ve been reading has been work related. It just happened that we were going on vacation and wanted something to read if I felt like it. Just happened upon the first in this series-A new world chaos. I don’t even know why I bought it since this is definately not the type of reading I normally would enjoy. After the first installment I was hooked. Started reading and couldn’t stop. Luckily was able to download this installment thanks to Kindle. Return picks up where chaos left off which was much appreciated. Characters were already developed so able to just jump right back into story line. Action packed and very difficult to put down. Written in a normal conversational writing style which really adds to the storyline. If you want a fun, action pack, easy to read, difficult to put down book with a few zombies thrown in would highly recommend. Just make sure to read A new world-chaos first. Can’t wait for next installment.


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep em coming!, November 10, 2011
By Bpost
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

Great book 2. Hope the next one comes out soon I am really excited to find out what’s next for everyone. Thanks for a great read(again).


5.0 out of 5 stars A New World Return, November 8, 2011
By shoewoman –
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I loved both of the New World books and can`t wait to read the next book. I do wonder why they don`t smoke the Night Runners out into daylight, and for gosh sakes quit going into stairwells without some way of securing the doors closed??? But i still love these survivors!

5.0 out of 5 stars great sequel, October 15, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

What can I say, loved the first book and this one as well. Nice to see a author with a new spun on the genre and someone that actually has some experience with the military writing about a subject that is both near and dear to my interests.

Being a veteran myself, the author is actually knows what he is talking about and does a great job of explaining it to a non military person in a way that is understandable to someone who does not have the experience.

The author is really starting to hit his stride in this book and the story flows nicely.

Great book but mare to read the first installment so you know the history of the plot.


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story, October 11, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

This is the second book in the series so if you have not read the first one you will be a little lost in the story but the first book is also an excellent book. This book picks up the story where it ended with the main character picking up his girlfriend and other soldiers in the middle east and returning to the United States. There is plenty of action, well developed characters, and some humor. The dialogue and character development is crisp and well thought out. I really enjoyed this story and look forward to future installments.


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me up late, October 6, 2011
By blue
 This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

This book is exciting. I stayed up way past my usual bedtime wanting to know what happened next. I found myself involved with the characters, caring about what happened to them. The detail of events are clear, easy to follow – I felt like I was actually on-scene. The writing is excellent, the author’s style well-developed. I will welcome the next book in the series.

4.0 out of 5 stars Jack is back!, November 25, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

The ex Air Force pilot/spec ops guy is back fighting bada$$ zombie fast-movers and trying to get his family to safety while pulling rescue missions on the way. Another great read. I like the Chaos books because they are more realistic than the traditional zombie novels and have a plausible cause for the outbreak, credible characters and contain practical information and tactics while being far more entertaining than most of the other EOFTW or SHTF books.

This second installment of the Chaos trilogy (hopefully it won’t end with only three) is a little smoother than the first as far as editing (‘course after I reread my review of the first book, I could use an editor too, or one less scotch when writing reviews–I do favor the Hemingway method) but it is a bit rushed–especially towards the end. I also now realize (thanks to the author) that some artistic license must be taken regarding technical details and tactics–both for the sake of brevity and for plot flow–even so, in this second installment I found no instances which forced me into a suspension of disbelief, though there were a couple of “well, that COULD happen that way” occurrences.

The auxiliary members of the group are still largely anonymous and appear as hangers-on to the magnificent trio of Jack, his son and his girlfriend. Surely some of these battle-hardened vets are more than just clay models following Jack’s commands. It works though, because the main focus is obviously on Jack, a true-to-character typical Air Force pilot type “A” personality “fixer” who has a hard time delegating. These are personality traits common (in my experience) to military pilots and tend to enhance the reality of the character and explain, or at least mitigate the apparent lack of forethought regarding some of the risks he takes to complete his self-imposed mission that could endanger the survival of the group.

The author can’t be expected to develop all of the characters in so short a time–there are too many–but it would have been nice to see a few personality “spikes” pop up, which would have been more realistic. I anticipate that will happen in the third installment when they build their redoubt, which should provide more scope for this sort of thing. I can’t wait to see what kind of hidden talents are on board the C-130 and eagerly await that third installment.

This is one of the few EOTW novels I recommend to my ex-military friends who enjoy this genre.


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Sequel, November 22, 2011
By Thor
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I loved this sequel, it so flowed right from the previous book.

And better editing from the start, which is a plus in my books. The characters are fully fleshed out and some you can love, and some you can hate, all for the right reasons.

This one I did not put down, and was still awake at 2am to finish it.


4.0 out of 5 stars What do you do when they can smell your fear??, October 29, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

What I thought was the most interesting part of this book is when he describes the night walkers and how they behave and every once in a while he writes from their point of view and how they see the world and us. I liked that they could only come out at night and that they hunted in packs and seemed to be able to pick up on things. That it seemed the longer they lived the better they got at seeing in the dark and learning things from watching us. I would really like to read more about Jack’s kids and their point of view, maybe for his next book.


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and Series, October 25, 2011
By Rat73
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

I had a grat time reading these books they are very entertaining. I had a hard time putting them down. I would recommend them to any who is a fan of survival horror genre. I can’t wait for the next book to cme out.


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting even better as the series grows!, October 24, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

This was a different type of zombie story. It is well written and more based in reality. I like that the author sticks with skills he has in real life and has based his books on what he would do and how he would do. No Super Soldier with mad skills and no brains here. Instead it’s a well trained man with a range of skills and a working thinking brain. (About time!) Spend the day getting to know the charactors and enjoy the story. I will keep getting these books. 🙂


4.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Chaos (Book 1), September 27, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Return (Kindle Edition)

A New World: Return is an excellent follow up to Chaos and picks up right where the second book left off. Even better, O’Brien has started hitting his stride as an author and the rough edges found in Chaos have been almost completely removed in this book. For example:

1. The number of typographical errors in Return is way down from book one and its obvious that O’Brien has taken readers comments to heart and has been working hard on this areas of his writing. (Note: O’Brien has also been following with readers to get them updated copies of his books as they come available along with being an active commenter here on Amazon. Its great to see a new author working with his readers so closely and I hope it leads to some more great books in the near future).

2. Writing from a first person perspective is tough and O’Brien struggled with it a bit in Chaos. In Return O’Brien seems to have started to hitting his stride and the first person perspective seems much more natural and comfortable. Overall the the book flows better and the few transitions of voice in this book are smooth. The improvement is impressive.

Overall this is one of the better books in the zombie (even if the night runners are not technically Zombies) genre that I have read recently, whether from a mainstream publishing house or self-published Kindle only ebook. I am really looking forward to the new book in the New World series and highly recommend Return and Chaos to fans of the zombie/end of the world genre.


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s