Chaos Book Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Way to go!!!, May 28, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Great new twist on the normal zombie epic. Nice to see a main character that uses common sense and sees the issue immediately and takes the appropriate action and able to have a plan and work it out quickly and accomplish what he sets out to do. Good descriptions and accurate information on military information which is nice to see in a novel.


5.0 out of 5 stars Action, drama, well written, April 21, 2011
By blue
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

The idea behing this action-packed story makes you think. The action scenes are descriptive and intense. The military style of the language creatues a tone that carries the action and makes the story plausible. And I like it that there are strong female characters.


5.0 out of 5 stars John O’Brien’s military career shines through Z-universe, September 18, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I believe that Mr. O’Brien has made a significant addition to the genre:

* We have a hero PILOT, and he brings a wealth of flight experience to the story. I was very impressed. I felt I was running through the checklists, handling the controls, and battling through storms at 15,000 feet.
* We have a CAUTIOUS hero, who avoids confrontation whenever possible. WOW, what a concept!!!
I am so tired of stories where survivors go from idiocy to idiocy: “What’s that noise? Gee, let’s look around until we find something that can kill us!” Jack hears a noise and bugs out if he can–I love the guy.
* We have a loyal father, with GOOD RELATIONS with his kids! Awesome. He’s their mentor, friend, guide, and protector. He constantly teaches them, while striving to keep them safe. He goes to Kuwait to save his girlfriend-a true “GI Jane”. Impressive. (She’s very cool too.)
* In Jack, we have a skilled “operator”. This novel is really a kind of “how to” deal with threats, Zombies or otherwise. How do you clear rooms of possible enemies? Best ways to deal with multi-target situations! “Thinking on the fly in desperate situations.” What does it mean if a door is locked or unlocked? This kind of information could save your life–even outside of a Zombie apocalypse.
* We have penetrating introspection, but it’s not overdone, and it’s really worthwhile.

SPOILER ALERT: We have a slightly new breed of Zombie here:

* They shriek when they see unaffected–kind of a “Invasion of Body Snatchers” thing.
* Pretty fast guys. Enormously strong.
* You can put them down with bullets without hitting their heads.
* And, yes, once again, “it’s the flu shots” which propogate the contagion.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I anxiously await the next novel. Well done Mr. O’Brien.


5.0 out of 5 stars Different take on the zombie apocalypse, August 5, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I have to mention first that I was given a copy of this book by the author. However, if I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t bother to write a review, unless it was so horribly awful that I had to warn people about it 😉

I wondered at first why a man would choose to take his three children (and his son’s girlfriend) on a flight across the world that had a huge chance at failure. Wouldn’t it be better to leave the kids with his mother, who lived in a relatively secure place? I mean, he has these kids and mother who need him, but he wants to fly off to the Middle East on the off chance that his love is one of the very few people in the world who didn’t succumb to the “zombie virus”? Implausible.

However, if a story is good enough, I can suspend disbelief, so I shook that off and kept reading. I’m glad that I did. I normally don’t like zombie novels, but I’ve found a few lately that I really like.

I won’t spoil the plot for you. Suffice it to say that I really enjoyed the book. Once I got past that mom-thing about taking kids into the unknown when there’s an excellent chance that they’ll all die before getting back home, I enjoyed the story. I like Jack, he has cool kids, and he and his girlfriend discussed what they’d do if the zombiepocalypse ever really occurred. Unusual, but fun.


5.0 out of 5 stars Can’t wait for the next installment!, September 9, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Pleasantly surprised with the first book by O’Brien. Great zombie story, strong characters, and with the author’s military background, very realistic. I also enjoyed the family dynamic incorporated into the plot. This book is superior to many of the zombie books for the Kindle that I’ve read, and if you are fan of the genre, I’m sure you will enjoy it.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, August 27, 2011
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

John O’brien has written a good story that allows the reader to get immersed in the book and oblivious to what is going on around them. That means the story is well written. The infected take a back seat in this book. They are slow to be introduced and once introduced they don’t dominate the story line.


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Author Awesome Books, November 28, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

The books were truly awesome, I read about a book a day and these have been the best I have read in a long time.
I highly recommend you buy this book if you like survival books or the “I Am Legend” movie


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and right on the money for the military veiw, November 28, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I just finished the first and second of this series and really enjoyed them. Its great to find a book that is accurate and gives you the exact feel of the military that these do. Really well written and fun books.


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep em coming, November 24, 2011
By Mike
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I don’t normally read these types of books but for some reason it caught my eye. For a couple of bucks thought what the heck. I was going on vacation and didn’t want to read anything work related. I will say it kept my interest. Mr O’Brien writes in a very conversation style which I prefer which added to the suspense. After the first few pages I was hooked. I actually couldn’t put it down after starting. Found I had to know what was going to happen next. Yes there may be a few far fetched idea’s as previously pointed out in other reviews, and I do agree, but I was reading for enjoyment and didn’t really think about how improbable some of the idea’s were. Heck, it involved zombies so that should be a clue wasn’t exactly gonna be rocket science. It’s fiction and many writers stretch the truth a bit. Who cares. It was just fun to read which is exactly what I was looking for. I was so hooked had to buy the second installment. Can’t wait for the third installment. Am hoping there are many to follow. Although the author is considerate enough to not leave you hanging in the middle of action, I find I have questions that I want answered. Yes, it may be a bit silly but I haven’t read for enjoyment for many years and this was the ticket for me. Never thought it would involve zombies. If you just want a good fun read that will keep you on the edge of your seat give it a try.


5.0 out of 5 stars A New World Chaos, November 10, 2011
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Buy this book!
This was the 1st book in the series and after reading it I immediatley bought the 2nd book – New World Return.
There’s been a Pandemic and the world as we know it is no more.Some familys have a natural immunity to the virus and Jacks family is one of those.This book tells how it began, how quickly everything changed and how the survivors are going to make it.(Maybe) Jack goes to rescue his son and 2 daughters from the basement of their home and what happens after that is a parents worst nightmare and very edge of your seat scary! I loved the tension and could feel the fear everytime Jack went into a building to get provisions, people or information. Anyone who has ever walked into a dark creepy building knows that feeling of being watched,knowing just how far the light from the door will shine in,the dark shadows in the corners and the “fight or flight” response. I always ran,but Jack always stays to fight and it’s exciting. You cringe everytime he turns a corner,goes down an aisle,and other then wanting to scream JUST GET OUT! every few seconds,I totally enjoyed it.When the family has to stay quiet with no light and boarded up doors and windows and can hear something sniffing, growling,screaming and slamming up against the house again & again,the writer made me feel just like I was there. The way he puts his family first, from rescueing them to teaching them to take care of themselves in this messed up World,are qualities every family in this day and age could use. He never panics(not really) and even though he knows little about these things or what he’s up against(find out in book 2) he never hesitates and knows he can take them. He mans up and gets it done! He and his fiance/girlfriend both being military have a pact that if this ever happens, of what they will do. They have made promises to each other and here it comes…he needs a plane to rescue her. Makes sense.Yes he does get into the “airplane tech” a little much but the plane is like another character in the story. It’s not just transportation,It’s thier security,sometimes a weapon and for awhile anyway(the whole book) is thier home.Both book 1-N.W. CHAOS and 2-N.W. RETURN were exceptional and I can’t wait for book 3.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome beginning to a new world!!!, November 1, 2011
By Marcel
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Move over Mayberry and Len Barnhart,John O’Brien is an up and coming exciting author.
He moves the storyline with care then drops the bottom out from under you.
He has a new concept for zombies that all his new fans will just love
I like the way Jack,the main character moves the story,at times he’s a loving father and fiancee and then turns into a patient Rambo….his expertise at flying and weapons shows that he knows what he’s doing and his humor at times reminds me of Gilligan 🙂
Superb characters and plot…looking forward to future books from this author


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, very detail oriented author, November 1, 2011
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Wow, I love a great zombie read, as I myself write in this genre. To be honest I am a sucker for anything that is military related. This author is hands down one of the most detail oriented writers that I have read in this genre. I enjoyed the aspects of what is join on in the mind of the protagonist. This was interesting due to the fact that the author used so much detail that I knew I would love this book from page one.

If you are a military person, you will love this book. I rated it high due to the fact that the detail is awesome. Yes there may be a spelling or editing issue here or there, but almost every book in the genre has a little bit of it. Great book, read it and you will not be let down.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fast paced read!, October 31, 2011
By Bpost
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book! I couldnt read it fast enough. I like the pandemic almost zombie approach. Very unique. Already reading book 2.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Series, October 24, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

A New World: Chaos is a newer take on the zombie apocalypse story. The characters are well thought out and have heart and emotions they are experiencing come though. The zombies are a new take on the typical zombie and make for really interesting problems for the survivors to deal with. This is a great new start to a new series. I really enjoyed the authors dialogue for the characters it feels and rings true for what they are going through. I can not wait for the next installment in the series.


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book!, October 17, 2011
 This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

This is very well written book with a good story line and plot. The military jargon is excellent but not too overly technical. The cross between a zombie type ‘monster’ and a vampire is a great twist on the genre. I am just about to buy the second in the series.


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED this book., October 7, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I normally don’t take the time to read books for pure enjoyment. A friend excitedly suggested this one, and I’m glad I listened to his suggestion. I became completely lost in the heart-beating adventure and simply could not put the book down.

It reads well and I appreciate the writer’s quirky style that creates the feeling of being immersed in the action. Indeed, the author is unconventional in his writing. Not only does this work, it makes the novel. It creates a cadence and rhythm seldom experienced in action thrillers. Normally I am a stickler for proper grammar, but the author’s voice and the way he writes is progressive…and in an strikingly creative and fresh way.

Not one for the “same ole way it’s always been done,” I love the innovative voice from a talented up and coming author of this exceedingly entertaining novel.

Keep it up Mr.O’Brien. Your talent (and editing) is developing with each book. Bravo for the courage to be unique. Just picked up your second book – which is even better. Eagerly awaiting book number three.


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn you, John O’Brien!!!!!, October 27, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

I say that because I downloaded this book and couldn’t put it down. I made the mistake of starting it in the early evening. I finished it late at night and of course, I had to have more. So, I downloaded the “Return” and read that until the sun came up!
You owe me a night’s sleep!

These were both great books and I cannot wait until the next one comes out. Very nice job!


5.0 out of 5 stars “Amazing Read”, November 16, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

Kudos Mr. O’Brien. This first intro book into the series is a fun read. I really enjoy the character development and feel like you are inside Jack’s head. The initial detail truly allows one to see the protagonist’s inner workings and thoughts. The scenario is honestly one that is not that far-fetched and Jack’s, the protagonist, slow gaining of knowledge of what is truly happening keeps the reader in tune with him – like they are living the story along with him. I love the writer’s story-telling style and the action/suspense that Jack, and later his girlfriend, encounters later in the story kept me turning pages late into the evening. A truly great thriller/horror/zombie (although not really zombies – kinda). I highly recommend this to anyone!

4.0 out of 5 stars Louis L’Amour meets Dawn of the Dead, October 27, 2011
This review is from: A New World: Chaos (Kindle Edition)

A relatively normal, upstanding, ex-military pilot and father of three, with some ground combat experience finds himself in extraordinary circumstances and strives to cope and overcome. The author gradually provides a background for his protagonist, Jack, and the horrible situation in which he finds himself then lets Jack work his way through it–much like Louis L’Amour did with many of the protagonists in his western novels.

A major ruiner for me is when the protagonist’s actions, motives or thought processes don’t match his given background or training–that ruins his credibility and reliability as far as I’m concerned and tells me the author either doesn’t know his material or didn’t research it well enough. Jack usually does everything in a tactically sound manner and in accord with his character, background and abilities throughout the novel–but he’s not perfect (another ruiner). After a few chapters I could relax and know that the protagonist was going to behave credibly and as a real person would with the same background. I’m ex Air Force Security Forces and have been a firearms and tactics instructor with the FEDS now for many years and know that there are lots of different “right” ways to do things that are continuously changing and the subject of ongoing debate as far as tactics and weapons handling etc, but I never found myself saying WTF–why did or didn’t Jack do that?

Another major ruiner for me is when the author steps outside the parameters of the characters and/or the scenario he’s laid out. For example, the protagonist unexplainedly develops or realizes knowledge skills and abilities to suit every situation–or magically finds everything he needs when those things could not or should not be there–and function. The author here does a good job of maintaining credibiltiy and believabilty within the boundaries he set and Jack acts in a manner entirely commensurate with his background. There is a bit of serendipity here and there, but it’s not beyond the realms of credibilty.

I considered rating this book 3.5 stars but there’s no half star rating available, so tie goes to the author. The novel loses one star for poor editing/wordiness and half a star for technical innacuracies (c’mon man, it’s vick’s vapor rub or mentholatum gel, not vaseline, and those aren’t steel jacketed rounds, they’re steel CORE rounds etc) but he partially makes up for that with thoroughness and really good, real-world tactics. Probably the best thing, as far as zombie novels go, is that the zombies are a real one-on-one threat and much more dangerous in numbers. Shoot, I even got a badly-needed reminder or two on tactics.

Some have criticized the first person narration, the slow pace of developing action and the detailed descriptions of Jack’s actions and his narrated thoughts behind those actions, but I found that allowed me to get inside Jack’s head and get to know him and empathize with him. Good character development. If you’re really into comic books, graphic novels and movies based on graphic novels etc, you may find this a little tedious. I really liked it and am almost finished with the sequel. Steel CORE rounds, dadgummit!

Advertisements

One thought on “Chaos Book Reviews

  1. Dan Shaw

    OK, you better get the sequel out fast since I enjoyed this book. I loved the emphasis on the people and not the infected. You tell a story that lets the reader get lost in the words and oblivious to what is going on around them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s